Hive and PIG/Grunt shell hangs on Cygwin

Again this is typical issue related to Cygwin.

Scenario:

I am running Hadoop on local mode on my windows 7 machine (32/64 Bit).

I’ve installed HIVE/PIG/Hadoop/Java6 all on the C: drive.

I am using Cygwin version: 2.819 (current latest).
I’ve mounted C: on the cygwin.
I am able to run hadoop commands from the cygwin terminal for example : fs -ls etc.
I am also able to start grunt and hive shells.

But the real problem is:

Any command I enter on grunt shell (example: fs -ls or records = LOAD..... ) I do not see any output, it kind of hangs. Similarly with the hive prompt if I give the command as show tables ; I do not see any output just cursor keeps on blinking! Any keyboard inputs and gives NOTHING. System appears to be doing NOTHING.

To me all the things look fine.  All the environment variables are set correctly. I am not sure what is going wrong here!

Wow !!! I spent hours to fix it!

This is the issue with cygwin created icon on the desktop or shortcut.

If you right click the icon -> properties you will see like this in target field :

<cygwin_home>\bin\mintty.exe -i /Cygwin-Terminal.ico –

Just point it to

<cygwin_home>\Cygwin.bat -i /Cygwin-Terminal.ico –

Alternatively you can also go to <cygwin_home> and start Cygwin.bat from command prompt.

Cheers!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Hive and PIG/Grunt shell hangs on Cygwin

  1. Kalai April 23, 2014 at 3:57 pm Reply

    Hi

    Can you please share the details how to configure Hive and PIG to run on windows using Cygwin?

    I couldn’t find any helpful details / pointers that could help to run pig in cygwin.

    Thanks
    Kalai

  2. soori May 23, 2014 at 12:31 pm Reply

    thanks it solved my problem the issue with cygwin .

Leave a Reply

